Dave Robertson sings about kissing, climate change, cult 70s novels and more kissing. His thoughtful, sometimes cheeky, lyrics are personal, political, playful and powerful. Influences range from story-teller singer/songwriters like Ani Difranco, Paul Kelly, Jason Isbell, Conor Oberst and Billy Bragg, to the atmospherics of bands such as The National and The Cure.

The sonics of Dave’s band The Kiss List are diverse. You could place the word “indie” in front of folk, pop or rock and you’d be in the ball park depending on the song at hand. The lineup is Rachel Armstrong on violin/mandolin, Rob Findlay on electric guitar, Tore Pedersen on bass and Merle Fyshwick on drums. They all sing harmonies! Their album Oil, Love & Oxygen was an epic DIY project recorded across ten houses. The most popular track Montreal is a bittersweet tale of romantic regret.

Their latest single, Often Enough, is a catchy-AF song about shock jocks, tribalism, the dangers of dichotomous thinking and wet lettuces. It is part of an EP project that began with live rhythm section takes at Hopping Mouse Studios, and subsequent production in Dave’s own studio. Previous single, Canary in the Coal Mine, was played nationally on Double J and glowingly reviewed.

The band have an impressive gig history, especially in their home town of Walyalup (Fremantle), but Dave also has solo gig highlights that include the Nannup, Fairbridge and Fremantle festivals, supporting The Basics in Tasmania and performing the song Rogue State to thousands at a Walk Against Warming rally.

In his studio, Dave has recorded, produced, mixed and/or mastered music for acts such as Ewan Buckley & Public Son, Molly Black, Sophie Moleta, Lachy John and Darcy Hay as well as theatre productions including Scent Tales and The Jub Jub Tree. Dave has twice been a judge for the WAM Song of the Year competition in the Blues and Roots, and Folk categories, and moonlights as a map maker and writer.